Review: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child
Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K. Rowling

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

This latest instalment in the Harry Potter franchise lacks the spark & intelligence of the original books. There are certainly moments where Rowling’s influence can be felt, and these were very welcome, but the script largely reads as if it were written by another, far clunkier, hand. This isn’t surprising given the format change and the writing team but I had hoped that this would be an opportunity to showcase some of the original magic (if you’ll pardon the pun) in a new way & unfortunately I felt ‘The Cursed Child’ fell short on this front.

Scorpius Malfoy is a wonderful character & I’m not sure this story gave us enough chance to explore him fully. I’d certainly welcome more writing on him in future.

I’m looking forward to ‘Fantastic Beasts’, the clips released so far look very promising, & I can’t imagine anything will stop my (near constant) rereading of the original Harry Potter series but, alas, ‘The Cursed Child’ will probably not be getting a second read through from me.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

