Writing 101 Day 2: Write a List

I was surprised by today’s Writing 101 task, I hadn’t really thought of using a list as a starting point for a blog, but it’s an excellent idea.  The Task asks us to write a list based on one of the following areas:

  • Things I Like
  • Things I’ve Learned
  • Things I Wish

So I’ve decided to do a short list of my favorite books published so far in 2015, with a view to doing a much more thorough round up at the end of the year.

  • 1. – The Gracekeepers by Kirsty Logan

the gracekeepers

The Gracekeepers is by far my favorite new release of the year so far.  The story takes place in a world that’s been flooded focusing on the crew of a circus ship, as well as a girl who performs burial rites for those who live at sea.

I wrote a short review of this book over on goodreads, although I’d like to update this when I have a little time: https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/1273488909?book_show_action=false

  • 2. – The Shepherd’s Crown by Terry Pratchett

Shepherd

Terry Pratchett is one of my all time favorite writers, coming second perhaps only to the late, great Douglas Adams.  In this, his final Discworld book, published posthumously a little over a week ago, we meet with young witch Tiffany Aching for the last time.  It’s difficult to describe this book without spoiling it, so I’ll say only that it was the perfect way to say goodbye.

For those who’ve finished the book there’s an interview in the Telegraph with Neil Gaiman about changes to the ending of the Shepherd’s Crown that Sir Terry was hoping to make before he passed away, it makes an emotional read: http://www.telegraph.co.uk/books/authors/terry-pratchett-wanted-different-ending-shepherds-crown/

  • 3. – You’re Never Weird on the Internet (almost) by Felicia Day

felicia

I don’t often buy autobiographies but Felicia Day’s ‘You’re Never Weird on the Internet’ caught my eye.  I listened to the audiobook at work at a time when I was feeling the full weight of an anxiety-ridden brain and found a kindred spirit, some good advice and plenty to smile about in this book, thanks Felicia.

  • 4. – A Portable Shelter by Kirsty Logan

portable

With two fantastic new releases this year Kirsty Logan is proving herself to be a bit of a writing superstar.  I’m part way through this gorgeous short story collection, based partly on Scottish Mythology and loving every word.  The book was only available as a limited print run of 1000, which have now all sold out, but thankfully for anyone wanting to pick up this collection the paperback is set to be published by Vintage in 2016.

  • 5. – Wind/Pinball by HAruki Murakami

windball

At last!  The first official English translation of Haruki Murakami’s early novels ‘Wind’ and ‘Pinball’ were released last month and are being sold as a single volume (one novel runs from the front to the middle, and if you flip the book over the other novel runs from the back).  My copy was shipped without the dust jacket, which was a bit of a shame, I should have sent it back, but I was too excited to start reading and so decided to dive straight in.

  • 6. – Go Set a Watchman by Harper Lee

watchman

The announcement of Harper Lee’s ‘Go Set a Watchaman’ took the literary world by surprise, you can find my review in an earlier blog post here: https://faitelle.wordpress.com/2015/08/16/review-go-set-a-watchman/

So concludes my top picks for new releases so far in 2015!  The next book I’m looking forward to is the third book in the Cormoran Strike series ‘Career of Evil’ by Robert Galbraith (better known as J. K. Rowling) which is set for release next month.

It’d be interesting to hear what books people have been enjoying so far this year, and if there’s any pre-orders you’re excited about.  As well as seeing what other Writing101 participants have chosen to list today, feel free to comment.

Jen

6 thoughts on “Writing 101 Day 2: Write a List

  1. The Reader On The 6.27 is the book I’ve been droning on about the most this year so far. It’s translated from French, and reads like carriages coupled together. Each chapter stands on its own, but is better with others. I will never think of pulped books the same again. I hate recommending books, but this one I hate to see unread. Beautiful, beautiful book. Advert over 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • That looks like exactly my kind of book, think I might need to order a copy. If you ever feel like sending more book suggestions my way feel free.

      Like

  2. Terry Pratchett is definitely my all time favourite author and when he passed it honestly felt like a family member had died.. I haven’t gotten the latest (and last) book yet, it feels just so final somehow! I’m currently reading ‘go set a watchman’ and it’s a love/hate relationship with the book so far.. Did you enjoy it or did it not mesh with your preconceived ideas of Scout and Atticus?

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think love/hate describes my feelings for Watchman very well. I haven’t read To Kill a Mockingbird (!) so went into Watchman knowing only that it was a first draft of a much loved book, which would eventually be written loosely based on the flashbacks. Bearing that in mind I found myself enjoying Watchman but hating almost all of the characters. The way Lee wrote it, it made that seem like a good thing? I’m set to read Mockingbird soon and I’m really interested to find out how Lee’s writing and ideas matured, and what it’s like to read Mockingbird from this perspective.

      As for Terry Pratchett, I think you’ll love The Shepherd’s Crown. I found it the most emotional of all his books and honestly a bit of a shock, I’m going to be honest, I cried.
      I think it’s best to read it when you’re ready, and try not to let anyone spoil it in the meantime.

      Jen

      Liked by 1 person

      • You will love ‘to kill a mockingbird’, though it’ll be interesting to see how you feel about it after having read watchman first. As for Pratchett, I think I’ll save his last book a little while longer..

        Like

Leave a Reply

